College Dean's Advisory Council

The mission of the College's Dean's Advisory Council is to support and promote the Cal Poly College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences in its program and activities. These dedicated industry leaders provide counsel, focus and direction and assist the university president and college dean in carrying out the Learn by Doing mission of the college and the university.

Dean's Advisory Council Members (* denotes alumnus, 1 denotes council chair, 2 denotes council vice chair)

Name Title Company, Location
Dennis Albiani* Vice President California Advocates, Sacramento
Ken Altman CEO Altman Plants, Salinas
Stephen Barnard* President & CEO Mission Produce, Inc., Oxnard
Irene Bernal Senior Manager, Global Sourcing Amazon, Seattle
Kiran Black Marketing Manager Sacramento Valley Walnut Growers, Yuba City
Richard Clauss Past Chairman of the Board and Co-Founder Hilmar Cheese Company, Hilmar
Kate Dargan* Chair of the Board and Chief Strategy Officer Intterra, Castle Rock, CO
Kimo Falconer* President

MauiGrown Coffee, Lahaina, HI

Jim Fipp* Partner Berg Hill Greenleaf Ruscitti, LLP, Boulder, CO
John Franzia, Jr.  Co-President Bronco Wine Company, Ceres
Bob Gray President/CEO (retired) California Ag Leadership Foundation, Salinas
Luawanna Hallstrom* Chief Operating Officer & Principal Collaborative Communications, Washington, D.C.
Heather Hammack* President Famous Software, Fresno
Jeff Huckaby President Grimmway Farms, Bakersfield
Mike Jani Senior Forestry Advisor Humboldt Redwood Company, LLC and Mendocino Redwood Company, LLC, Ukiah
Merle Jensen* Director Greenhouse Vegetable Consultants, Tucson
Steve Junqueiro  President & CEO Steve Junqueiro & Associates, Modesto
Ejnar Knudsen CEO AGR Partners
David Krause President Wonderful Citrus, Delano
Lauren Layne* Attorney BAKER MANOCK & JENSEN, PC, Fresno
Jim Marderosian* Owner Bee Sweet Citrus, Fowler
Richard Matteis* Administrator California Farm Bureau Federation, Sacramento
Kirk Messick* 2 President & CEO Messick International Trade & Consulting LLC, Sacramento
Jon Munger* Vice President of Operations Montna Farms, Yuba City
David Nickum President and CEO Valley Farm Transport, Inc., Dixon
Tracy Pezzini Director of Livestock Operations Bengard Ranch, Salinas
Craig Reade* Partner Betteravia Farms, Santa Maria
John Salmonson* 2 Consultant Brandt Consolidated, Fresno
Yvonne Sams* Director, Customer Development, Logistics Division G3 Enterprises, Inc., Modesto
Robert Taylor Attorney and Trustee Robert C. Taylor, Attorney at Law, Salinas
Rick Tomlinson President California Strawberry Commission, Watsonville
Rob Trice Founder The Mixing Bowl, San Francisco
Yen Tsutsumi Senior Vice President George P. Johnson, San Francisco
Stan Van Vleck* Chairman & Partner Downey Brand LLP, Sacramento
Mary Wagner President MK Wagner & Associates
Charles Walton* Chairman of the Board Smithers-Oasis Company, Kent, Ohio
Karen Watts* 1 West Region Professional Products Manager Nutrien Ag Solutions, Anaheim
Lynn White* 2 Managing Director Twemlow Group, LLC, Charleston, S.C.
Jean-Pierre Wolff Owner and Vintner Wolff Vineyards, San Luis Obispo
George Wurzel* Vice President & COO J.G. Boswell Company, Corcoran
Donn Zea Executive Director California Dried Plum Board, Sacramento
Jim Zion Managing Partner Meridian Growers, Fresno

Related Content